Review: Fein 9-20-25 Turbo-II 9-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum with Auto-Start

Fein 9-20-25 Turbo-II 9-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum with Auto-Start

Fein 9-20-25 Turbo-II 9-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum with Auto-Start
The Fein vacuums / dust extractors are designed for heavy, continuous, industrial use, wet or dry. The improved, rugged anti-tipping design features a powerful 120volt two-stage motor that offers bypass cooling, ensuring a long motor life. Vacuum performance measuring at 90 to 99 inches of water lift means Fein dust extractors produce far greater suction than the competition, at an average of 60 decibels. All three models come with electronic variable suction control with LED indicator allowing for maximum performance, auto-start function, and integrated drain plug. Accessory filters are available that capture particles down to .3 micron (HePa). The Fein dust extractors when combined with Feins random orbit sanders are an integral part of Feins 98 dust-free sanding system. Plug your random orbit sanding system into a Fein dust extractor. The tools switch turns the dust extractor on and off and provides a ten second delay after shut off to clear the hose. Maximum performance can be achi

  • Durable, compact, quiet, producing an average of 60 dB (A) noise level at 3.5-Feet
  • Electronic variable suction control with LED indicator
  • Rugged and improved new design: The new Fein dust extractors are designed for heavy, continuous, industrial use. The new design has an optimized shape and 6 wheels instead of 4. This reduces tipping
  • Tremendous static water lift: 90-Inch
  • Auto start for dust extraction, 19-Amp switch on vac allows you to plug in your router, miter saw, portable table saw
  • Includes 16 ft vacuum hose (1-1/4 in dia.) and 5 micron filter cloth

List Price: $ 495.00

Price:

Similar tools from eBay: HAWK - Denim Shop Apron 2 Pocket 24" by 36" Woodworking, Metal Working - AD018

$10.95
End Date: Wednesday Sep-16-2015 15:34:04 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $10.95
Buy It Now | Add to watch list
WOODWORKERS WOODEN WORKBENCH SHOP VICE FOR WOOD WORKING VISE WOODWORKING
$62.99
End Date: Monday Sep-7-2015 23:00:31 PDT
Buy It Now for only: $62.99
Buy It Now | Add to watch list

Question by JnJAudio: How much roughly to start a woodworking co.?
I work for a very reputable CNC cutter and tool grinding company, and CNC machining has grabbed my attention lately. I’ve seen many home-made setups on YouTube that perform incredibly, and were on a lower end budget. I have a ton of woodworking tools, a few sheets of 3/4″ MDF board, a router, and access to an unlimited source of cutters (my job manufactures, refurbishes, and designs cutters for big companies). I also have partial access to some basic 3D CNC machining software.

I got to talking with my stepfather today, and he thinks it would be a great idea to turn our 50′ x 50′ garage into a woodworking shop. My dream has always been to operate my own business and to hire my family. Eventually in the future, we would like to sell wood sports memorabilia to local memorabilia stores in our town. If we save enough money, we may even build a CNC plasma cutter for thin gauge aluminum as well.

My question, how much are we looking at to build my first production CNC router and maybe some small business advice here and there? With tax season in swing, I know I’ll have enough money to cover the cost of the build. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Best answer:

Answer by Apollenaire
Might be a good idea to first see if the garage is on property deeded for residential or business use. It might be on your property taxes or you might have to check with your municipality but given that I have to think the garage is on the same property as a house, it would be residential and thus you can’t use it for a business.

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Click here for more Woodworking Shop info.

Permalink to ‘Review: Fein 9-20-25 Turbo-II 9-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum with Auto-Start’

Category: Product Reviews

2 Responses to “Review: Fein 9-20-25 Turbo-II 9-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum with Auto-Start”

  1. Michael Sandman
    110 of 114 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Quiet, powerful convenient and costly, June 20, 2009
    By
    Michael Sandman (Brookline, MA United States) –
    (REAL NAME)

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Fein 9-20-25 Turbo-II 9-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum with Auto-Start (Tools & Home Improvement)

    The new version of the Fein Turbo II has some improvements that answer criticisms of the previous model, and it’s more expensive. Fein added two additional casters, metal clips to hold the top to the base, the ability to change suction power by changing motor speed, and a drain plug to make it easy to get liquid out. It still comes without any accessories except for a nice long 16′ 1-1/4″ hose and a rubber adapter to mate the hose with to a Fein power tool dust outlet. Fein wants far too much money for its accessory tool set, IMHO. But a 2-1/4″ Sears or Shop Vac hose will fit the inlet, and/or you can buy 3rd party attachments for the 1-1/4″ hose that comes with the vacuum. If you’re going to attach it to a sander or other power tool for dust extraction, it’s a good idea to buy the stepped hose adapter Fein sells. It’s available at Amazon for a fair price .

    Why would anyone pay Fein this much for a shop vacuum? Two reasons: quiet operation and the onboard power outlet that turns on the vacuum when you turn on a power tool plugged into the outlet.

    Quieter operation may not seem important until you hear the difference. As another reviewer says, a big old Sears shop vacuum sounds like the deck of an aircraft carrier during takeoff operations. You need hearing protection if you’re going to run it for more than a minute or two. The Fein sounds like quiet household vacuum, but it has enough suction and capacity for a workshop. The advantage of the auxiliary power outlet is obvious if you use a vacuum to extract dust when you’re using a sander or a miter saw. The vacuum turns on just when you need it and shuts off on its own when you turn off the power tool.

    The Fein comes with a cloth filter that will capture particles down to 5 microns, which is probably marginally OK for dust generated by a miter saw, but not for handling fine dust from orbital sanding or if you vacuum up after sanding wallboard seams. Fein will sell you a cartridge filter for 1 micron particles or a HEPA cartridge filter that gets down to 0.3 microns. You can buy a Gore Clearstream HEPA filter – the “Ridgid-Sears Red” version — at Amazon or at a home center for less than a third what Fein charges for theirs. Gore does not list the Fein as one of the vacuums its filters will fit. But it does. Just buy a 2-1/2″ x 3/8 fully threaded carriage bolt, a 3/8″ wing nut and a 3/8″ nylon washer and screw the filter down snugly. You don’t need a bag if you use a cartridge filter unless ou’re vacuuming hazardous materials.

    Barely five stars considering that Fein ought to include vacuum tools in the box, but this thing really delivers on “quiet,” on power and on convenience.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. Nobody
    27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Why would anyone pay $400 for a portable shop vac?, October 23, 2009
    By
    Nobody

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Fein 9-20-25 Turbo-II 9-Gallon Wet/Dry Vacuum with Auto-Start (Tools & Home Improvement)

    Well, I did, after burning out my last hardware store special. I was skeptical, even after getting the beasty out of the box, but I figured for once in my life I would get a really good shop vac.

    And to find out why you pay $400 for a shop vac, all you need to do is turn it on. It’s incredibly quiet, will not tip over and will suck a rock through a straw. Okay, I get it.

    One thing I don’t understand is the hose. I assume Fein did some field surveys, and that was the preferred length, but it’s way too long for me. Why didn’t they split it in two, put a joint in the middle? Seems like an obvious feature they could have added. Anyway, I’m using the hose from the burnt out jobby, and the Fein anaconda sleeps on a hook.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: