Reviewing: PORTER-CABLE PCE605K 3-Amp Corded Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit with 31 Accessories

PORTER-CABLE PCE605K 3-Amp Corded Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit with 31 Accessories

PORTER-CABLE PCE605K 3-Amp Corded Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit with 31 Accessories
Includes Tradesman 3.0 Amp Multi-Tool – , Depth/Cutting Guide, Precision Wood End-Cut Blade, Wood/Metal End-Cut Blade, Flush Cut Blade, Sanding Platen, (25) Sandpaper Sheets, Flexible Scraper, Case Improved Durability and Power The Porter-Cable corded oscillating multi-tool includes a 3.0 amp motor for power and durability on the jobsite. This model delivers the performance needed for tough , including cutting, sanding, scraping, and grinding. The Poter-Cable multi-tool delivers up to 10,000-to-22,000 oscillations-per-minute, which enables users to quickly complete different applications in a variety of materials. Convenient Jobsite Usability The tool features a depth/cutting guide that provides stability when making long cuts, as well as control for making plunge cuts. For versatility, the multi-tool includes a redesigned three-position over mold to pr

  • Motor delivers power to complete applications fast
  • Tool-free system blade change allows quick changes and adjustments for specific applications without wrenches and bolts
  • Depth and cutting guide helps complete plunge and cutting tasks faster and with more control
  • 3 Position Over Mold provides gripping area on the front, middle and rear to improve comfort
  • 10-Foot Cord miinimizes the need for extension cords

List Price: $ 232.44

Price: [wpramaprice asin=”B008V4NFC2″]

More Amazon deals:

Dremel SM20-02 120-Volt Saw-Max Tool Kit

Dremel SM20-02 120-Volt Saw-Max Tool Kit
The Dremel Saw-Max is reinventing cutting as you know it. It is powerful enough to cut through any material and versatile enough to make complex cuts yet ergonomically designed and lightweight to be able to control with one hand. The Dremel Saw-Max lets you cut with confidence because you know it will get the job done and get it done right.Dremel’s SM20-02 120-volt Saw-Max tool kit combines the compact versatility of the Saw-Max handheld saw with a well-rounded set of to allow users to tackle a wide variety of projects that involve quick but precise cutting—such as building bookshelves, installing wainscoting, cutting holes in flooring or drywall, fitting home gutters, and a plethora of other tasks. The Saw-Max is an ideal go-to cutting tool for do-it-yourselfers, hobbyists, crafters, and woodworkers who appreciate the ability to cut with confidence. The kit also includes cutting wheels, a cutting guide, and a dust port adapter. SM20-02 120-Volt
Saw-Max Tool Kit

  • Versatile cutting system for a variety of materials (wood, plastic, metal, tile, masonry)
  • Powerful 6-amp motor for tough applications
  • Worm drive gearing for durability and power
  • Dust extraction port for keeping the work place clean
  • Second-wheel position for flush cutting

List Price: $ 227.15

Price: [wpramaprice asin=”B005JRJE6A”]

Similar tools from eBay: [wprebay kw=”power+tools” num=”18″ ebcat=”11700″] [wprebay kw=”power+tools” num=”19″ ebcat=”11700″]

Find More Power Tools Products

Click here for more Power Tools info.

 

This post sponsored by Ikea Orders in Israel

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Previous Post

Little Giant SkyScraper Testimonial

Next Post

PORTER CABLE 18V HAMMER DRILL PC18CHD 1/2″ METAL CHUCK USES PC18B PC18BL NEW

Comments

    • Moviegoer
    • July 6, 2013
    33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Improved, October 30, 2012
    By 
    Moviegoer
    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)
      

    This review is from: PORTER-CABLE PCE605K 3-Amp Corded Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit with 31 Accessories (Tools & Home Improvement)
    Customer review from the Amazon Vine™ Program (What’s this?)

    The last version of the Porter-Cable Multi-Tool was a great tool, but they’ve taken something that was already excellent and improved on it.

    Aside from the extra half an amp that was added to power this, it now has a depth cutting guide that is a helpful thing to have. People with the old tool are now upgrading to this new version just for the depth guide. Some have even tried to make their own depth guide for the older version of this tool with mixed results.

    This multi-tool sands, removes grout, cuts wood and metal, takes up old carpet tiles, and sands rust. The cord is soft and rubbery and not likely to break or crack or come apart. The toolbox this comes in has also been redesigned to allow more to fit more easily inside. No longer are there multiple small dividers for all the accessories. The older version of the toolbox was difficult to fit the cord into, and get it closed. Having the inside of the box much more open has solved that problem.

    Changing the attachments is super easy. Just hold the latch down, pop the old attachment off and slide the new attachment on. It can be done almost instantly, with no effort, and there are little teeth that grab onto the attachment to keep it in place. Cutting and sanding attachments can be turned at any angle and the angle can be quickly adjusted simply by holding down the latch that secures them, and turning them to the new position.

    There are only two cons to this that I can think of. The first, and biggest one, is that there does not seem to be any attachments that can be used with this except the Porter-Cable attachments. This shouldn’t be a problem for most however. The other con to this, which goes with the first con, is that the cutting attachments are on the short side, which works fine for most cutting tasks. However, it would be nice to have a longer cutting blade in some cases. Still, the cutting blades are good and do the job, but a slightly longer one would make some jobs faster and easier. Some type of attachment to use with this to catch dust would have been nice also.

    This comes with tons of sandpaper for the sanding attachment, in various grades. The box is tough and sturdy, and snaps shut easily and securely. The cord is thick and the plug is heavy and large enough to prevent fumbling if you are wearing gloves.

    This can do small jobs or medium sized ones. It can saw something like a table leg quickly and easily, and I used it for that purpose, to lower a table a couple of inches.

    I love the little dial on the back of this to power up the motor to exactly the speed you want. This is powerful, the cord is ten feet long, and it is a handy thing to have when you are working on old furniture projects as I am now. I’m very happy with this.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • TheTerrorBeyond
    • July 6, 2013
    24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Excellent tool!, November 21, 2012
    By 
    TheTerrorBeyond (Tartarus) –

    This review is from: PORTER-CABLE PCE605K 3-Amp Corded Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit with 31 Accessories (Tools & Home Improvement)
    Customer review from the Amazon Vine™ Program (What’s this?)

    This is an excellent tool with a TON of power to get through tough jobs. I have used this to saw holes in place in existing flooring without a hitch and without making a mess around the intended target area. I have had the previous version of this tool for some time and find this version to be even better, as the guide is indispensable for keeping a tight and accurate line when cutting. This works wonders!

    The tool-free blade change works amazingly well and does not feel at all unsafe. There is enough tension on the pins holding the blade that you will never have to worry about it coming off and flying into your torso or some other horror-movie scenario. This one design element is my favorite part of the whole tool, in fact. Combine the ease of changing blades with a ten-foot power cord and you have a real winner.

    This kit says that it comes with “31 accessories,” but don’t expect 31 blades or anything of that nature. This advertising point is tricky in that the “31 accessories” include a bunch of sanding pads and such that are not actually accessories, but rather consumables for the device. There are actually 25 sandpaper sheets included in the “31 accessories.”

    Here are the actual contents of the kit:

    The PCE605K includes PCE605 3 Amp Multi-Tool, (1) depth/cutting guide, (1) precision wood end-cut blade, (1) wood/metal end-cut blade, (1) flush cut blade, (1) sanding platen, (25) sandpaper sheets, (1) flexible scraper, (1) kit box.

    Bottom line: Even though the “31 accessories” notation is deceptive, this tool is well worth the price and should last for many years.

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • ladyfingers
    • July 6, 2013
    17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Porter Cable 3.0 Amp Oscillating Multi-Tool Review by Mr. Ladyfingers, November 4, 2012
    By 
    ladyfingers (Northern Michigan) –
    (VINE VOICE)
      

    This review is from: PORTER-CABLE PCE605K 3-Amp Corded Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit with 31 Accessories (Tools & Home Improvement)
    Customer review from the Amazon Vine™ Program (What’s this?)

    I am an occasional handyman when the situation calls for it. The Porter Cable 3.0 Amp Oscillating Multi tool feels comfortable in my hand and appears to be sturdy and well made. This tool does what all the other oscillating tools do like flush cut, plunge cut, sand, grout removal, and scraping in hard to reach areas. The kit includes blades for both wood and metal. Switching tool attachments is quick and easy with the tool-free accessory clamp. I tested this tool on some scrap material and it seems to be as powerful as my Bosch MX25E. This is an excellent tool for making thin plunge cuts without having to use a drill to start a cut in the middle of the work piece and then switch to a jig saw. Flush cutting next to a flat surface like a floor, wall or sill is where this is absolutely the right tool for the job. All of the oscillating tool blades used for plunge cutting I have looked at have depth gauges printed on them until you use the blade and rub out the ink. The adjustable depth gauge on this tool is very practical and I am sure it will stop me from cutting too deeply sometime in the future. The depth guide can be repositioned and used as a cut guide. This may be useful if you want to try to use the tool as a substitute for a jig saw. I recommend using this tool in the difficult-to-reach areas and then switching to a jig saw if you need to be exact about cutting a line that is truly perpendicular to the surface.

    I found a Porter Cable blade adapter kit at the Imperial Blades website thanks to another reviewer, but have not ordered or tried it yet.

    I can see where this tool would be very handy when you need to cut copper or PVC material between floor joists or plumbing feeds inside cabinets under sinks.

    I do not like the plastic carrying case. It does hold the tool body securely, but the blades, Allen wrench and all the other accessories just float around inside the case. A simple and separate internal case to hold the accessories would be a welcome addition to the product and help prevent the loss of some of the smaller accessories.

    I like the tool and will update this review as I find more opportunities to use it.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • Woody
    • July 6, 2013
    100 of 106 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Very Handy Tool, October 12, 2011
    By 
    Woody

    This review is from: Dremel SM20-02 120-Volt Saw-Max Tool Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)

    I have used this tool to cut a few things so far and it has performed very well. I’m working on a flooring project in our kitchen where I used it to size underlayment, then used it to cut the hardwood (laminate) floor panels as well. It provided a very fine/accurate cut and really helped speed up the project! I also hooked it up to a shop vac to help keep down the dust in my kitchen. Overall, this saw is very easy to use especially in tight spaces, and it has a ton of power (Much more than the other Dremel tools I own). I also used it to cut some metal conduit and was amazed with the ease of the cut using the abrasive wheel.

    I have a bathroom tile project on the list to finish before the holidays, so I will get to try the diamond wheel out. So far, I think this thing is built well enough to handle anything I put in front of it.

    One other thing to mention is that the kit contains 4 accessories which allowed me to tackle these jobs without purchasing more expensive blades right away. Great value! Included 2×4 Cutting Guide, dust extraction adapter, 2 carbide wheels (one which cuts flush) and a diamond wheel for tile. I’ve spent $25+ on a diamond wheel alone in the past so it’s nice to get the freebie.

    Highly recommended!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • Jerry F.
    • July 6, 2013
    91 of 98 people found the following review helpful
    2.0 out of 5 stars
    Be Careful, December 5, 2011
    By 

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Dremel SM20-02 120-Volt Saw-Max Tool Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)

    Tool base and blade guard made of light weight {cheap} plastic. Blade guard caught fire on first use due to hot sparks from cutting metal with the metal cutting blade included with the tool. Was cutting great until I had to stop to put out the fire. May be OK for some materials but wouldn’t use for cutting metal. Returned tool today for refund.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • Michael J. Danberg
    • July 6, 2013
    130 of 143 people found the following review helpful
    3.0 out of 5 stars
    Has its merits, November 23, 2011
    By 
    Michael J. Danberg (Larchmont, NY USA) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Dremel SM20-02 120-Volt Saw-Max Tool Kit (Tools & Home Improvement)

    I bought this saw to trim (i.e., cross cut) 1×6 3/4″ tongue and groove pine panels subsequent to vertical installation. The problem is this saw seems to be designed to make good freehand cuts but does not work well with a straight edge saw guide given that (i) the front of the shoe is too small to make sufficient contact with the straight edge upon commencing the cut, and (ii) the offset from the left of the shoe to the blade is not a “round” number. I therefore decided to return the saw and purchase a more classic trim saw. Other pros and cons are as follows:

    Cons:
    -Nut that attaches blade must be turned clockwise to loosen (counter intuitive).
    -MSRP on Amazon is inaccurate.
    -Kerf is wider than expected (i.e., a bit sloppy).
    -Loud.

    Pros:
    -Worm drive delivers lots of torque.
    -OK if you intend to make freehand cuts.
    -Convenient, light weight.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: