Reviewing: Dremel 7300-N/8 MiniMite 4.8-Volt Cordless Two-Speed Rotary Tool

Dremel 7300-N/8 MiniMite 4.8-Volt Cordless Two-Speed Rotary Tool

Dremel 7300-N/8 MiniMite 4.8-Volt Cordless Two-Speed Rotary Tool
Add the finishing touch with the lightweight 7300-N/8 . Thanks to its compact size and comfortable soft grips, the helps you keep a steady hand while you work. Featuring two speeds and eight different accessories, this tool is ideal for a variety of delicate tasks that are too small for bulky machines. And it’s built for efficiency, too: if you need to change accessories in the middle of a job, use the included wrench for a quick switch. The battery can be easily removed from the housing and can be fully charged with a few hours.
Cordless Two-Speed
Rotary Tool
At a Glance: Compact build keeps hands comfortable during use

Soft grips along the sides for easy handling

Features eight different accessories

Offers 4.8 volts of battery-operated power

Backed by two-year warranty
The compact size and comfortable soft grips help you

  • Cordless small rotary tool; compatible with Dremel bit accessories; 1/8-inch collet
  • Small rotary tool ideal for delicate tasks and finer work; 2 speeds (6,500 and 13,000 rpm)
  • Lightweight plastic housing
  • Includes MiniMite 7300-N/8 cordless two-speed rotary tool, (8) accessories, wrench, battery, and charger
  • 8 inches long; 1.4 pounds; 2-year warranty

List Price: $ 45.98

Price: [wpramaprice asin=”B003TU0XFU”]

Question by jaxs84: Best Power Tool to get as a gift?
So I have to buy my boyfriend a birthday gift and I was thinking of starting him off on a good power tool. He lives in an apartment right now so space is limited and doesn’t really do to much but I don’t want to get him a crappy one or one that has to much power that he will never have to use. Any suggestions?

Best answer:

Answer by sensible_man
Get him a good (at least 18 volt) cordless drill. If you want to spend more, you can get the kits that have more tools that work on the same battery. Always a useful tool.

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Click here for more Cordless Power Tools info.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Previous Post

3846 5 Leatherman Micra

Next Post

Rockler Jig It Drill Guide Review (WoodLogger.com)

Comments

    • Ricardo
    • July 6, 2013
    53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Less is More, February 12, 2012
    By 
    Ricardo (New York City) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Dremel 7300-N/8 MiniMite 4.8-Volt Cordless Two-Speed Rotary Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)

    I’ve wanted a Dremel tool for years but never really needed one. Lately, some of my hobbies called for the things that a Dremel can do.

    After reading every review on Amazon (and elsewhere) I have come to believe that Dremel is living off its reputation. Then again, it seemed that unless you can spend several hundred dollars, these rotary tools are all junk.

    What the heck. For $25 I though I’d give the cheapest Dremel a try. Based on the reviews of the more expensive models, it seemed as though the weakest link was the variable speed control. As the 7300 has only 2 speeds, that might just eliminate the issue.

    After using the 7300 for a few months, I have to admit that it meets my meager needs and meets them very well. Don’t mistake this for a “kit”. It comes with a few accessories, but be prepared to spend a lot more for the accessories you’ll need. Actually, you’ll spend more on accessories than you did on the tool itself.

    The battery is a NiCad. Old technology that should have been discontinued years ago. Most people don’t know that you have to let a NiCad battery completly die before attempting to recharge it. Do otherwise, and it takes less and less of a charge each time. That’s why so many folks complain about poor battery life.

    Look, this is only a 4.8v battery. It’s not going to give long run time and isn’t going to provide the torque of a more powerful battery. If you need more power, you will have to spend more money.

    I get about 15 minutes run time before needing to re-charge and have two options. I can be patient and wait for the battery to charge or I can buy a second battery. Yeah, the second option seems to make more sense, but it’s $16 and the entire tool only cost $25. Also, unless you use the tool often, you’re going to find your batteries pretty much dead anyway.

    This tool does what it’s supposed to do, which is to provide lite duty performance for short periods of time. If you need a heavy duty tool, go spend a few hundred dollars and buy a professional model. Personally, after reading the reviews, I would never buy a more expensive Dremel than the 7300.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • PA Mom
    • July 6, 2013
    105 of 112 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Works great on my dogs’ nails!, February 1, 2011
    By 
    PA Mom (PA) –

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Dremel 7300-N/8 MiniMite 4.8-Volt Cordless Two-Speed Rotary Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)

    I was looking for a grinding tool to use for trimming my dogs’ nails since they don’t like clippers and I refuse to pay a vet or groomer for something so simple…especially since I have four dogs. I did some research, checked Amazon reviews for various products, watched prices on both Amazon and Ebay (used and new) and ended up buying the Dremel 7300 cordless MiniMite new on Amazon.

    After only about a week of introducing my dogs to the tool (using the instructions on doberdawn.com which is very detailed and great for the newbie…they don’t sell anything, just an advice site), I’m now able to get my dogs to lie there while I do nail trimmings. This is a HUGE improvement over using typical dog clippers! I’m simply amazed at how well they took to it.

    After reading about the PediPaws and similar items, then the Dremel models/options, I went with the MiniMite because it’s similar to the Pedipaws except there’s no guard (I haven’t found this to be an issue) and it works better, is sturdier, and lasts longer according to other reviewers. I’ve only had it for two weeks, so I can’t give feedback on longevity yet…but I do know it will be getting lots of use at our house, so time will tell. And we are still using the first sanding wheel, haven’t had to replace it yet.

    Plus it’s cordless, so it’s easier to use for the dogs anywhere in the house or outside (in warmer weather). So far I haven’t had to recharge the battery (I’ve been using it daily for about two weeks now).

    If you’re struggling with dogs who hate nail clippers, I highly recommend trying a MiniMite. I have four dogs ranging size from 11 lbs to 67 lbs and it works well for all of them. I bought this specific one because I wanted more than one speed and I didn’t need a lot of attachments to go with it. This is nice and compact and not so noisy that it scares the dogs. Both the MiniMite and the charger fit on my desk, within easy reach whenever I need to do some nail trimming. There’s no cord on the charger, it just plugs directly into a wall outlet and you click the MiniMite battery into the charger base. It’s 2-1/2″ deep (sticking out from the outlet), so you need a spot where there’s about 4-5″ of clearance to easily plug in/remove the battery & charger. A counter outlet or a wall outlet that’s not next to furniture are both good choices.

    I’ve never had a Dremel or similar model of hand grinder. It’s a handy little tool and I’m sure I’ll find other uses for it in time. But for right now, I’m VERY happy with the results on my dogs’ nails (and no rough edges like you get with nail clippers).

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • makesmiles
    • July 6, 2013
    41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
    1.0 out of 5 stars
    Tool okay – Battery is Garbage, March 8, 2012
    By 
    makesmiles (Prairieville, LA USA) –

    This review is from: Dremel 7300-N/8 MiniMite 4.8-Volt Cordless Two-Speed Rotary Tool (Tools & Home Improvement)

    The tool by it self is great. However, the battery is garbage. I bought 2 of these. I love how the tool works and how convenient it is. However, after a short time (a couple of months), the batteries do not hold a charge any longer. When I tried to buy new batteries, they cost as much as buying a new tool with a new battery. I just junked the ones I had and went to different tools with better and cheaper batteries. I would not have given it 2 stars except that the tool is great. Dremel needs to go to a different and cheaper battery system. Maybe rechargable AA NiCD’s or NiMH’s. Buyer beware!

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

    • Marsh
    • July 6, 2013

    get him a good 12 or 14 volt cordless drill, nice to have around the apt good for putting things together such as furniture etc..comes with screwdriver bits. less than 50 bucks

    • Carpenter
    • July 6, 2013

    Cordless drill with 1/2″ chuck and minimum 14.4 volts. If he’s not a pro and will get only occasional use out of it I would go with a Ryobi.

    • demimonde00
    • July 7, 2013

    Dremel tool. You can use those for anything. Especially good for small projects in limited space.

    • latrailera2000
    • July 7, 2013

    What a thought full GF,” Harbor freight” has a nice kit it has a drill, flashlight,sander, saw.All in one case, for around $ 40.00. cheap but multipurpose. Oh they all run on the same battery comes with a charger too I’ve got this kit and love it.

    • pokerfaces55
    • July 7, 2013

    drimmel was a good choice..
    only dont get a cordless
    get a model that feels good in your hands..
    and a bit kit.. at least 20 pieces

    • duker918
    • July 7, 2013

    I’ll have to agree with the cordless drill. THE most useful tool everyone should have in their home. You can hang pictures, build the boxed furniture, repair all sorts of stuff and you can take it anywhere. It is the most borrowed tool I own!
    Porter Cable make good stuff, as does Bosch and DeWalt. Personally, I’d stay away from Ryobi.

    • David P
    • July 7, 2013

    As a man that uses tools in my daily business, I would recommend a gift card to Home Depot, Lowe’s or any of the other hardware stores. I am very particular about my tools. I like to feel them in my hand before buying. I like to look at the information on them and compare stats with other brands. I hope this helps. dp

    • Buckeye4Life
    • July 7, 2013

    Nothing beats a good cordless drill gun. The inexpensive ones are around $ 60-$ 70. Not sure what you want to spend, but it sure is nice to have around.

    • JW
    • July 7, 2013

    The ultimate tool would be a RotoZip tool kit with the expansion accessories. It can be used for a multitude of projects. That’s half the fun; to see what you can do.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: